I am the Resurrection

I have been listening to The Stone Roses today, hence the title. But now I miss my man and in these rainy nights, I usually turn to our songs to go back to certain places that keep me warm and fuzzy.

I am currently listening to Calypso Blues. It reminds me of July 2014. It was one of the happiest days of my life.

I don’t know how long since I have written in this journal. It was meant to chronicle my very mundane life. I want to start that again.

Man so much has happened. I don’t even know where to start. But yes I will tell you my story. I am a twenty-something weirdo traveling the world while  earning bucks on the side. I live and learn through it all, all the aches, pains and joys of being uprooted. I am a girlfriend to a very strong man who makes me a better person by being an example for me to follow. I am a daughter consciously trying to make her parents proud all the time. I am a sister  who answers her brother’s messages after two days. A co-worker who likes to laugh on the job. A friend who doesn’t show up during events. I’m pretty sure you can relate.

Anyway, I will try to post as much as I can to chronicle my adventures, my thoughts and ideas for me to read ten years down the line and smile.

Writing this in Tangerang, Indonesia while studying wordpress. I am currently making up  a new site that would hopefully turn into something substantial. I won’t quit this.

Maybe I will write about my 2014 as a start. But that will be for later.

I want to share this with you by the way. Calypso Blues.

Sittin’ by de ocean
Me heart, she feel so sad,
Sittin’ by de ocean,
Me heart, she feel so sad…
Don’t got de money
To take me back to Trinidad.

Fine calypso woman,
She cook me shrimp and rice,
Fine calypso woman,
She cook me shrimp and rice…
Dese yankee hot dogs
Don’t treat me stomach very nice.

In Trinidad, one dollar buy
Papaya juice, banana pie,
Six coconut, one female goat,
An’ plenty fish to fill de boat.

One bushel bread, one barrel wine,
An’ all de town, she come to dine.
But here is bad, one dollar buy
Cup of coffee, ham on rye.

Me throat she sick from necktie,
Me feet hurt from shoes.
Me pocket full of empty,
I got Calypso blues.

Dese yankee girl give me big scare,
Is black de root, is blonde de hair.
Her eyelash false, her face is paint,
And pads are where de girl she ain’t!

She jitterbug when she should waltz,
I even think her name is false.
But calypso girl is good a lot,
Is what you see, is what she got.

Sittin’ by de ocean
Me heart, she feel so sad,
Sittin’ by de ocean,
Me heart, she feel so sad…
Don’t got de money
To take me back to Trinidad.

I am the Resurrection

Leave a Reply

